Directed Energy Outreach

DE2DC   DE Caucus   Volunteer   Contacts  

Directed Energy Outreach

The Directed Energy Outreach Campaign has been successfully educating decision makers and warfighters on RF and laser directed energy weapons technologies and capabilities since January 2009. DE Outreach provides an opportunity for the DE community from government and industry across the United States to educate senior decision makers at the Pentagon and on Capitol Hill. The Directed Energy to DC Exhibition (DE2DC) also includes the opportunity to exhibit mature DE technologies. This (7 Mb) DE Outreach Annual Publication summarzed activities in 2017. (A briefing summarizing early DE Outreach activities is available here.)

Directed Energy to DC Exhibitions

The most extensive activity of DE Outreach has been the Directed Energy to DC Exhibitions, or DE2DC. The schedule for these events has included an exhibition and reception on Capitol Hill and a more extensive exhibition of DE hardware in the courtyard of the Pentagon. The activities on Capitol Hill and at the Pentagon are usually held on two independent days in the same spring week.

These events have been held annually since 2012, and another is being planned for 2017. Below is a list of links to the previous DE2DC exhibitions as well as the one currently being planned. A summary of results for the most recent event is available.

The organizing committee for the exhibitions is composed of volunteer participants, mostly drawn from the organizations that plan to exhibit plus DEPS staff. The committee meets telephonically on a regular basis to plan and manage the event.

Directed Energy Caucus

The Directed Energy Caucus was formed in Congress in 2011 in recognition of the importance of this potentially game changing technology. The Caucus watches over DE issues on Capitol Hill and has served as the Capitol host for DE2DC. This list of the current members shows their party affiliation and state.

  • Doug Lamborn (co-chair), R-Colo.
  • James Langevin (co-chair), D-R.I.
  • Jim Bridenstine, R-Okla.
  • Mo Brooks, R-Ala.
  • Mike Conaway, R-Texas
  • Susan Davis, D-Calif.
  • Scott DesJarlais, R-Tenn.
  • Trent Franks, R-Ariz.
  • John Garamendi, D-Calif.
  • Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-N.M.
  • Alcee Hastings, D-Fla.
  • Scott Perry, R-Pa.
  • Martha Roby, R-Ala.
  • Mike Rogers, R-Ala.
  • Tim Ryan, D-Ohio
  • David Schweikert, R-Ariz.
  • Austin Scott, R-Ga.
  • Carol Shea-Porter, D-N.H.
  • Jackie Walorski, R-Ind.
  • Joe Wilson, R-S.C.
  • Robert Wittman, R-Va.


Directed Energy Outreach depends on the efforts of volunteers to achieve its educational goals. If you would like to volunteer, please get in touch with one of the principal contacts whose information is given below.


Cynthia Kaiser (505) 249-9117
James Horkovich (520) 615-4779
Mark Neice (505) 998-4910

Copyright 2017 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube

Last updated: 21 March 2017